ARMA 2020: Pathways to Inclusion → Driving Change

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) in Research and Research Management and Administration takes many forms and is increasingly gaining national and international recognition in Higher Education. Equality Impact Assessments, for instance, are part of the Research Excellence Framework and are also being developed by research funders to consider the profile of who and what is being funded. As the diversity of the research base increases, it is increasingly important that we ensure that our processes, policies and practices are inclusive.

This conference provides an opportunity to think deeply about how our work within Research Management and Administration connects to issues of Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion. ARMA is keen to give focus to how RMA work intersects with EDI to ensure it is not only considered, but applied in the governance, strategy and daily practices and processes of Research Management and Administration, at both institutional and national levels.

Delegates will have the opportunity to share best practice and to consider new ways of working. We welcome a diverse range of thoughts and perspectives and would like to encourage proposals on a range of issues related to EDI work, such as (but not exhaustively):

  • How can we ensure that our research environments are diverse, representative, and inclusive?
  • How can we enhance peer review processes so that they are fair and robust?
  • What interventions can we put in place to foster more inclusive working environments for researchers and research professionals?
  • What could we change about planning and project management processes so that they incorporate greater flexibility and support inclusion?
  • To what extent might current policies and practices lead to feelings of exclusion or othering?
  • How can we make research partnerships ethical, fair and transparent?

Abstract Submission

Abstract submission for ARMA 2020 is now open! This is your chance to present a poster or deliver a session and make an impact at conference. For full guidelines and to submit an abstract please visit the Abstracts page.

Key dates:
Abstract submission opens: 16 December 2019
Parallel Session abstract submission closes: 31 January 2020       
Notification of outcome: w/c 24 February 2020

Poster Presentation abstract submission closes: 16 March 2020
Notification of outcome: w/c 30 March 2020

Delegate Registration

Early bird registration opening: 3 February 2020

More coming soon… keep an eye on for updates.